

Committee and date Council

24 November 2011

<u>Item</u>

15

Public

APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

Responsible Officer Richard Thomas

Email: richard.thomas@shropshire.gov.uk Tel: (01743) 252725 Fax: (01743) 252713

1.0 Summary

1.1 The purpose of this report is to reflect the wishes of the Group Leaders in respect of the membership of both the Safe and Confident Communities Scrutiny Committee and the South Area Planning Committee.

2.0 Recommendations

2.1 It is recommended that the wishes of the Leader of the Council and the Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group as set out in the report be approved.

REPORT

3.0 Allocation of Seats

- 3.1 The provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 require the Council to review the representation of each political group on committees at the Annual Meeting, or as soon as practicable after a change in the political membership of the Council.
- 3.2 The recent Bishop's Castle by-election saw the Liberal Democrat Group retain the seat for that electoral division. Consequently, there has been no change in the political balance which translates as follows:

Conservatives	69 seats
Liberal Democrats	16 seats
Labour	9 seats
Independent	3 seats
Total	97 seats

- 3.3 Following the election the Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group, Mr N J Hartin, has requested that the newly elected member for Bishop's Castle, Mrs C Barnes, be appointed to serve on the South Area Planning Committee. She will replace Mr Hartin in that regard. Mr Hartin has also requested that Mrs T Huffer, a substitute on the South Area Planning Committee, be replaced by Mrs H M Kidd.
- 3.4. The Leader of the Council wishes to appoint Mrs K D Calder to serve on the Safe and Confident Communities Scrutiny Committee. She will replace Mr J A Gibson in that regard.

List of Background Papers (This MUST be completed for all reports, but does not include items containing exempt or confidential information)	
Cabinet Member (Portfolio Holder)	
Keith Barrow	
Local Member	
All	
Appendices	
None	